Hasso-Plattner-Institut
Hasso-Plattner-Institut
  
 

Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation

Design thinking is more than just a process. Methods and tools alone are not enough to drive innovation in companies and organizations. For many experts, researchers and practitioners, the key to successful innovation and transformation lies with shifting the mindset. A person’s mindset determines how they approach life: it is an expression of their values and mentality, and thus influences their behavior in different situations. That is why the team at the HPI Academy has developed the Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation, building on over 10 years of practical experience and research.

The Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation consists of six elements: 

Think & Act in a Human-Centered Way

One of the greatest strengths of design thinking is its focus on people. This means, firstly, wanting to understand human needs, behaviors, emotions and values. Secondly, it means using this understanding to inspire and shape your own work.

Individuals with a human-centered mindset are open and non-judgmental towards people with different backgrounds and perspectives. They are able to empathize with the emotions and needs of others, in order to understand why people do what they do. They feel comfortable taking on the user’s perspective on a problem, even if it does not correspond to their own experience. Finally, they actively involve users in specific phases of the design process.

Collaborate in Diverse Teams

Just as design thinkers approach their users with a real interest in their experiences, they also bring this attitude to their teamwork. They recognize the value of diverse teams when it comes to understanding complex problems and developing innovative solutions. A diverse team has a significant disruptive potential. This is brought to light when everyone contributes their personal and professional experiences, as well as their diverse competencies, whilst considering how these can overlap and complement each other.

Individuals with this mindset externalize and communicate their thoughts, thereby sharing what they know with others in the team. They strive to contribute to and grow the team’s pool of knowledge. They are open to different perspectives and opinions, meaning they can accept group decisions, even when these do not correspond to their own opinions. Finally, they show empathy towards other team members, by paying attention to their feelings and experiences.

Explore the Problem Space

Design thinkers explore problems in a holistic way to find innovative solutions. They want to understand the context of the challenge as fully as possible, which means exploring the experiences and perspectives of those affected, as well as considering systemic dynamics and regulatory frameworks. Once they have become aware of their blind spots, design thinkers select the most promising starting point to address the challenge. If, during the course of the project, new information comes up, the challenge can be “reframed” to adjust its focus and remain close to the needs of the user.

A person with a problem exploration approach embarks on their journey of discovery with openness and curiosity. They are not afraid to ask questions or explore directions that others might find unusual. They continually take every opportunity to improve, adapt or refine their understanding of the challenge, even if that means deviating from their original plan or redefining the problem to solve.

Learn Through Experimentation

Learning through experimentation involves the constant desire to learn by trying things out - in other words, moving forward in a project through action rather than discussion. In order to encourage quickly testing out new ideas, iteration is key. This means looping back to and repeating previous steps. All the while, it is important to adopt a positive attitude towards “failure” and “mistakes”, i.e. to see them as a necessary part of every learning experience.

Individuals who learn through experimentation are able to make abstract things concrete, for instance, building a prototype of a concept. They are also able to extract learnings from their experimentation, for example to derive user needs. They have the ability to think spatially and to make thoughts or ideas tangible with the help of sketches, objects or roleplays. They go through many quick iteration loops by testing, drawing conclusions and moving on - or even stopping a project altogether, if that makes more sense.

Embrace Uncertainty

Design thinkers often work on complex topics that have many variables and stakeholders and no obvious solutions. They must be able to explore these topics with as much openness as possible and to embrace the uncertainty that comes with them. Indeed, embracing uncertainty means not just tolerating challenges with unpredictable outcomes, but actively seeing them as opportunities. Tackling complex challenges with this mentality means being comfortable with the ambiguities, incomplete information and potential contradictions which they throw up, and using these constructively.

Individuals who take uncertainty for granted are courageous. They can think abductively, meaning they are capable of drawing conclusions and taking decisions on the basis of incomplete information. As such they are able to move forward in the process constructively, despite uncertainty. They accept that any results or solutions might not be final, and are therefore fine with changing their own opinion or direction.

Envision a Radically New Future

Radical envisioning refers to the mindset that is necessary for radically new ideas to emerge. This attitude is often associated with an optimistic belief in a better future and a deep conviction that you can achieve your goals despite the odds.

Individuals who are able to imagine radically new things have to be resilient. They refuse to be restricted by what is, and imagine instead what could be. Finally, they are capable of thinking beyond the redesign of a single product or service, towards designing entire interlinked systems.

Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation @ HPI Academy

Organizations can only be sustainably transformed when individual employees have internalized the elements of this mindset and the corporate culture as a whole is aligned with it. Thus, each format at the HPI Academy has a different focus point or specialization, but the Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation runs as a central thread through them all.

Hasso-Plattner-Institut
Hasso-Plattner-Institut
  
 

Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation

Design Thinking ist mehr als nur ein Prozess. Um Innovationsarbeit in Organisationen und Unternehmen voranzubringen, reichen nicht nur Methoden und Tools. Vielmehr ist das Mindset für viele ExpertInnen aus Praxis und Forschung die Grundlage für erfolgreiche Innovation und Transformation. Denn das Mindset eines Menschen beeinflusst das Verhalten in unterschiedlichen Situationen. Es umschließt die Geisteshaltung und die damit verbundenen Werte und Einstellungen einer Person. Deshalb hat das Team der HPI Academy basierend auf über 10 Jahren Erfahrung in Praxis und Forschung das Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation entwickelt.

Das Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation setzt sich zusammen aus sechs Elementen: 

Think & Act in a Human-Centered Way

Eine der größten Stärken des Design Thinking ist der Fokus auf den Menschen. Dieser erfordert die Haltung, menschliche Bedürfnisse, Verhaltensweisen, Emotionen und Werte verstehen zu wollen und dieses Verständnis nutzen zu wollen, um die eigene Arbeit zu inspirieren und zu gestalten.

Eine Person mit einer mensch-zentrierten Denkweise ist offen und urteilsfrei gegenüber Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Hintergründen und Perspektiven. Sie ist in der Lage, sich in die Emotionen und Bedürfnisse einer anderen Person einzufühlen, um zu verstehen, warum Menschen das tun, was sie tun. Sie fühlt sich wohl dabei, die Perspektive der NutzerInnen auf ein Problem einzunehmen, auch wenn diese nicht der eigenen Erfahrung entspricht. Schließlich bezieht sie die NutzerInnen aktiv in bestimmte Phasen des Designprozesses ein.

Collaborate in Diverse Teams

Design Thinker begegnen nicht nur ihren NutzerInnen mit einem echten Interesse für deren Erfahrungen und Bedürfnisse. Sie bringen diese Einstellung auch ihren Teammitgliedern entgegen und erkennen den Wert eines vielfältigen Teams für das Durchdringen komplexer Probleme und die Entwicklung innovativer Lösungen. Die unterschiedlichen Perspektiven der Team-Mitglieder mit diversen Kompetenzen, persönlichen und beruflichen Erfahrungen sowie deren Schnittstellen steigern das disruptive Potential der Teamarbeit.

Eine Person mit diesem Mindset externalisiert und kommuniziert ihre Gedanken und teilt ihr Wissen mit anderen im Team. Sie ist bestrebt, den Wissenspool des Teams zu erweitern. Sie ist offen für unterschiedliche Perspektiven und Meinungen. Das beinhaltet, Gruppenentscheidungen zu akzeptieren, auch wenn diese nicht der eigenen Meinung entsprechen. Schließlich ist sie empathisch für die Gefühle und Erfahrungen anderer Teammitglieder.

Explore the Problem Space

Design Thinker erforschen Probleme auf ganzheitliche Weise, um eine innovative Lösung zu finden. Sie wollen ein Problem in dessen Kontext so umfassend wie möglich verstehen. Das umschließt die Perspektiven der NutzerInnen sowie die systemischen und kontextuellen Dynamiken und Rahmenbedingungen. Nachdem sie verschiedene blinde Flecken aufgedeckt haben, entscheiden Design Thinker sich für den vielversprechendsten Ausgangspunkt zur Lösung des Problems. Kommen im Projektverlauf neue Informationen hinzu, kann durch das Reframing der Ausgangs-Fragestellung der Fokus neu gesetzt werden, um auf diese Weise das Bedürfnis der NutzerInnen zu adressieren.

Eine Person mit einer problem-explorierenden Herangehensweise begibt sich auf Entdeckungsreise mit Offenheit und Neugierde. Sie scheut sich nicht davor, Fragen zu stellen oder Richtungen zu erforschen, die andere für ungewöhnlich halten könnten. Sie nutzt kontinuierlich jede Gelegenheit, ihr Verständnis für das Problem zu verbessern, anzupassen oder zu verfeinern, auch wenn damit die ursprünglich eingeschlagenen Pfade verlassen werden und das zu lösende Problem neu definiert werden muss.

Learn Through Experimentation

Zum Lernen durch Experimentieren gehört der ständige Wunsch, durch Ausprobieren zu lernen – mit anderen Worten, durch Handeln und nicht nur durch Diskussion in einem Projekt voranzuschreiten. Um schnelles Ausprobieren zu fördern, ist Iteration ein zentraler Baustein, also das Durchlaufen verschiedener Schritte in sich wiederholenden Schleifen. Dabei gilt es, eine bejahende Haltung zu „Scheitern“ und „Fehlern“ einzunehmen, d.h. sie als notwendigen Teil einer jeden Lernerfahrung anzusehen.

Eine Person, die durch Experimentieren lernt, ist in der Lage, abstrakte Dinge zu konkretisieren, z. B. den Prototyp eines Konzepts zu bauen. Sie vermag es ebenso, Lehren aus ihren Experimenten zu abstrahieren, also beispielweise Nutzerbedürfnisse abzuleiten. Sie hat die Fähigkeit, räumlich zu denken und Gedanken oder Ideen mit Hilfe von Skizzen, Objekten oder Rollenspielen (be)greifbar zu machen. Sie durchläuft schnelle Iterationszyklen, indem sie testet, Schlussfolgerungen zieht und weitermacht – oder Projekte, wenn nötig, stoppt.

Embrace Uncertainty

Design Thinker arbeiten oft an komplexen Herausforderungen, die viele Variablen und Stakeholder sowie keine offensichtlichen Lösungen haben. Deshalb müssen sie in der Lage sein, Probleme so ganzheitlich wie möglich zu erforschen und Unsicherheit zu akzeptieren. Diese Denkhaltung bezieht sich auf die Fähigkeit, Herausforderungen mit unvorhersehbaren Ergebnissen nicht nur zu tolerieren, sondern auch als Chance zu sehen. Eine komplexe Herausforderung mit dieser Haltung anzugehen bedeutet, dass man sich der Mehrdeutigkeit, der unvollständigen Informationen sowie potentieller Widersprüche bewusst ist und diese konstruktiv nutzt.

Eine Person, die Unsicherheit als gegeben annimmt, ist mutig. Sie ist in der Lage, aus unvollständigen Informationen mit Hilfe von abduktivem Denken und Interpretieren Schlussfolgerungen zu ziehen und Entscheidungen zu treffen. So kann sie, trotz Unsicherheit, konstruktiv voranschreiten. Sie akzeptiert, dass die Ergebnisse und Lösungen möglicherweise nicht endgültig sind, und ist daher fähig, ihre eigene Meinung oder Richtung zu ändern.

Envision a Radically New Future

Dieses Mindset-Element bezieht sich auf die Denkhaltung, die notwendig ist, damit radikal neue Ideen entstehen können. Diese Haltung ist oft mit dem optimistischen Glauben an eine bessere Zukunft und der Überzeugung verbunden, dass man sein Ziel trotz aller Widerstände erreichen kann.

Eine Person, die in der Lage ist, sich radikal neue Dinge vorzustellen, muss resilient sein. Sie lässt sich nicht von der Gegenwart einschränken, sondern kann sich vorstellen, was in der Zukunft sein könnte. Schließlich ist sie in der Lage, über die Neugestaltung eines einzelnen Produktes oder Services hinaus auf vernetzte Systeme hinzuarbeiten

Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation @ HPI Academy

Eine nachhaltige Transformation von Organisationen gelingt dann, wenn die einzelnen MitarbeiterInnen ein solches Mindset verinnerlicht haben, sowie die Unternehmenskultur insgesamt daran ausgerichtet ist. Daher zieht sich das Design Thinking Mindset for Innovation wie ein roter Faden durch unsere verschiedenen Formate, mit unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkten und Vertiefungen.